JUN 23 - 25  


The International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services (IAFMHS) was established in 2000 as an international non-profit association, with headquarters in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The goals of the Association can be broadly defined as follows:

1. To enhance the standards of forensic mental health services in the international community
2. To promote an international dialogue about forensic mental health, in all its aspects, including violence and family violence
3. To promote education, training and research in forensic mental health
4. To inform professional communities and the public about current issues in forensic mental health
5. To promote and utilize advanced technologies in the pursuit of the above goals
6. To form informal and formal liaison with organizations having a similar purpose

A primary part of the Association's mandate is to hold an annual conference, providing an arena for information sharing on the latest research, program development, as well as legal, administrative, and ethical matters. As well, the Association publishes the International Journal of Forensic Mental Health.

Click here for our bylaws. To read our latest minutes from the Annual General Meeting, click here.


Members At-Large 

Ex-Officio Members

Ronald Roesch, Ph.D., Publications Liaison - IAFMHS
Simon Fraser University, Mental Health, Law & Policy Institute
, Vancouver, Canada

Tonia Nicholls, Ph.D., Editor - International Journal of Forensic Mental Health
Associate Professor, Psychiatry, University of British Columbia, Senior Research Fellow, Forensic Psychiatric Services Commission, BC Mental Health and Substance Use Services, PHSA, Vancouver Canada

Ilvy Goossens, M.A., Student Representative
Graduate Student, Clinical Forensic Psychology Program, Department of Psychology, Simon Fraser University, Canada


Peter Braun, Ph.D., Chair, Long-Term Forensic Psychiatric Care (The Netherlands)

Johann Brink, MB ChB, BA Hons, FCPsych(SA) FRCPC, Member-at-Large (Canada)

Gary Chaimowitz, MB, ChB, MBA, FRCP(C), Past Director (Canada)

Keith Cruise, Ph.D., Past LOC Chair (USA)

Vivienne de Vogel, Ph.D., Past Director (The Netherlands)

Kevin Douglas, Ph.D., Past Director (Canada)

Beate Eusterschulte, Chair, Offenders with Intellectual Disabilities (Germany)

Michele Galietta, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (USA)

Emily Glorney, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (USA)

Quazi Haque, Ph.D. Chair, Service Development, Organization, Strategy & Delivery (UK)

Stephen Hart, Ph.D., Past Director (Canada)

Mette Kreis, Ph.D., Representative Young Career Professional (UK)

Brian McKenna, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (New Zealand)

Adegboyega Ogunwale FWACP, LL.M, Chair, African Interest (Nigeria)

Suzanne O'Rouke, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (UK)

Stephanie Penney, Ph.D., Chair, RISC-Team (Canada)

Josanne Van Dongen, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (The Netherlands)

Jodi Viljoen, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (Canada)

Patty Zapf, Ph.D., Past Director (USA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software