JUN 25 - 27  

Student Grants & Awards

The IAFMHS Student Section typically offers 4 financial award opportunities for students attending the IAFMHS annual conference.  There will be two presentation awards to acknowledge the research and presentation work of first-author student presenters at the conference. There will also be two travel awards to increase attendance from students in underrepresented countries and/or institutions due to financial need.

Award Types

  1. Top student oral presentation ($1,000 CAD)
  2. Top student poster presentation ($500 CAD)
  3. First travel award ($1,000 CAD)
  4. Second travel award ($500 CAD)

Generally speaking, all applicants have to be student members without full-time employment, in good standing with IAFMHS. All student members will receive a call for award applications via e-mail in spring. Potential changes to our award schedule (e.g., eligibility, award amount) anapplication process will be communicated via e-mail as well. 

Derek Eaves Student Research Grant

The Derek Eaves Student Research Grant honours Dr. Derek Eaves’ bursary and academic contributions to the International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services.  Eligible candidates are individuals who are currently undertaking a Bachelor, Masters or Doctoral degree in a relevant field to forensic mental health and are current student members of IAFMHS. 

      • Grants are awarded twice per academic year (Fall/Spring), valued at max. $500 CAD. 
      • **  NEW ** Applications will be evaluated by an independent panel made up of members of the Board of Directors and the Advisory Board. 
      • Deadlines are February 28th and October 31st each year.
      • For more information on deadlines, criteria and how to apply, go here.

    Call for Awards

    An example of the call for awards can be found here. Applications are CLOSED until an email has gone out with an updated call for awards for our conference in Montreal in 2019. 

        • Please note that you have to be an active IAFMHS student member to receive the call for awards. 
        • Calls usually go out in late spring. To ensure you receive the notification, make sure your membership is up-to-date.
        • A few awardees have graciously shared their winning presentations with our students. Please find them linked in the awards' list below.

    Derek Eaves SRG Recipients


    Marichelle LeClair, B.A.   |   McGill University (CAN)


    Melissa Jonnson, B.A.   |   Simon Fraser University (CAN)

    Conference Award Recipients

    IAFMHS 2018 - Antwerp, Belgium

    Nicole Muir, M.A.   |   Simon Fraser University (CAN)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: First travel award

    Courtney Wade, M.Ed.  |   North Carolina State University (USA)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: Second travel award

    Emilie Picard, M.Sc.   |   Fordham University (USA)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Sanam Monjazeb, B.A.   |   Simon Fraser University (CAN)

    IAFMHS 2017 - Split, Croatia

    Laura Hemming, M.A.   |   The University of Manchester (UK)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: First travel award

    Romaine Desclos, M.A.  |  Alliant International University (USA) 

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award offered: Second travel award

    Lindsey Gilling McIntosh, M.A.  |  The University of Edinburgh (UK)
    Degree sought: Doctoral
    Award received: Top presentation award
    Paper: Systematic Review and Meta analysis of the Effects of Structured Psychological Interventions for Forensic Mental Health Patients”

    Sarah Janes, M.A.  |  The University of Edinburgh (UK)
    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award Received: Top poster award

    Poster:  Cognitive Contributors to Offending: A Delphi Study”

    IAFMHS 2016 - New York City, USA

     Stephanie Van Horn, M.A.   |   Texas Tech University (USA)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: Top presentation award

    Paper: "Assessing Risk in Justice-Involved Women: Predictive Validity of the Criminal Sentiments Scale-ModiPied and the Effect of Treatment on Recidivism”

    Sarah-Jayne C. Leonard, M.A.   |   The University of Manchester (UK)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: Top poster award

    Poster:  “Factors Associated With Length of Stay for Patients Admitted to Medium Secure Services From Prison “

    IAFMHS 2015 - Manchester, UK

    Sophie-Anne Dufour, M.A.   |   Université de Montréal (CA)

    Degree sought: Doctoral

    Award received: Top paper award

    Paper: "Detainee’s motivation towards correctional programs: Drop out; success and recidivism"

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software