Dr. Rüdiger Müller-Isberner retired from the Board of the IAFMHS in 2014, before presenting as keynote speaker at the IAFMHS conference in Manchester in 2015. His contributions to the IAFMHS have been significant, both in supporting the association from its inception and as a role model for others in the field, particularly with respect to integrating science and practice.

The Rüdiger Müller-Isberner award is intended to celebrate his contributions to the field and the Association, by honoring a long-standing member of the association whose career epitomizes the fusion of clinical practice, scholarly research, and mentorship. The awardee can come from any discipline, and can be either a primary researcher who focuses on clear clinical applications (e.g., treatment or assessment of forensic populations) or a clinician who has made substantial research contributions to the implementation of best practices.

We are pleased to announce this year’s Rüdiger Müller-Isberner Award winner is

Professor Stephen D. Hart, Canada

In his roles as an educator in higher education and a service provider in the private sector, Stephen has been a teacher, trainer, supervisor, and consultant for agencies and organizations around the world. His primary contributions are related to the implementation, and evaluation of practical procedures for the assessment and management of psychopathic personality disorder and violence risk. He has played a lead role in establishing the structured professional judgment approach to violence risk assessment and developing guidelines that are used by civil and forensic mental health, social service, victim serving, corrections, law enforcement, national security, legal, and human resources professionals. An important focus of his work has been fostering practices that respect and promote the human rights and well-being of justice-involved people who have mental health difficulties or who have experienced or perpetrated violence. Stephen is a founding member IAFMHS, and he has served the association as President as well as the Founding Co-Editor and then Editor of the International Journal of Forensic Mental Health.

Past Award Recipients

2023 - James R.P. Ogloff, Australia

2022 - Michael Doyle, The United Kingdom

2021 - Gary Chaimowitz, Canada

2020 - Corine de Ruiter, The Netherlands

2019 - Ron Roesch, Canada

2018 - Mike Harris, The United Kingdom

2017 - Stål Bjørkly, Norway

2016 (Inaugural Award) - Rüdiger Müller-Isberner 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software